George Bilbo Bumpus. Bobolicious. Bow.  Beau. Just Bo. My Bo goes by all of these names. Bilbo searches for home.  Bumpus is a turkey eating hound from A Christmas Story.  Bow is the crowning touch on a gift.  Beau is one’s handsome gentleman caller.  George, well honestly, I’m not sure where that one fits in. And Bobolicious is just plain fun to say.  (I sing “Fergalicious” to him substituting his own name instead.)  He came crashing into my life on December 25, 2015.  Yes, I do mean crashing. He was already a full grown dog.  I live outside of town where unfortunately animals are regularly left unwanted near homes or on the side of the road.   Dogs like Bo wander until they find someone who looks into their soft eyes and says, yes. That, plus a good meal.  He was so thin you could see every one of his ribs.  His manners made it clear that he didn’t know what it meant to be part of a family.  When an animal shows up that  way,  the first few days and weeks are filled with wondering and waiting.   Do they have a home?  You ask around, check in with the local animal shelter, put up signs.  Soon enough you realize there isn’t anyone missing them or looking for them.  So,  your thoughts turn towards the  future. Will you say yes and make them a part of your life?  And of course, a name.  I feel a great responsibility in naming things.  It can define what something is as well as what it is not. Some names come more easily than others.  Off the top of my head I can think of 8 different names that I go by depending on who I’m with.  Four of those go back to my parents and another to my brother.  That’s five names before I ever even began school!  Just hearing one of them can make me smile and feel warm inside because I think of the one who first gave it to me creating something special between us.   Do you know one reason I took so long to begin wordpress?  A name.  Choosing a name.  They, whoever they are, give you a list of factors to consider carefully when beginning.  One can get so caught up in what others tell you that you should do that you become paused in midair.   I finally gave up and chose something simple and meaningful to me.  To commit is the thing.  To begin somewhere, even if it’s not where you thought it would be.  To say, yes. Welcome home Bo.

3 thoughts on “What’s in a name?

    1. He is! A true handful, especially in the beginning, but he’s worth the effort. The crossed paws is his natural way of sitting. It’s almost as though he poses! 😂. the only thing in life he really wants, a rub of the ear a scratch under the chin and he’s one happy boy. 😊 Thank you.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

