How often do I wonder

If I am too much

Or not even enough…

…strong the drums begin

listen well and let go my love…

let go and listen well…

Oh…for the feel of the music

…flowing into the depths of me

….comforting the silence of my soul

Can you hear the mockingbird

Dancing along the ivory keys

From black to white….

…and now again…

Gently a splash of turtles

Pleases and eases in the fulsome pauses

While at the ruffled edges

Frogs resound deep as cellos,

And full with moonlit meaning

Eagle spreads wide her wings

Gracefully taking to the heights of the open skies

Calling softly to her lover above the violins

As though she was meant to be there all along

… at last…

a sensual harmony of lost enchantment

…am I at the very heart of it

….or is it at the very heart of me…

…the rhythm echoes

within…with…in…

Until, I am no longer my own

….but, yours my love

a starry midnight note

in the forever of your painted song…

**

I come to rest near the water’s edge at evening. Van Gogh’s Starry Night in my mind’s eye. Beethoven harmonizes well with the soulful sounds of the woods behind me. Ebudae too. And, I am carried far away to lovely places within my heart.

****

ellie894 May 14, 2019

53 thoughts on “at the ruffled edges…

      1. Ah the dancing giraffes it’s been ages and ages since l saw them perform live the Lion Sleeps Tonight 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh Katy!!! Thank you isn’t enough to say for how you’ve touched my heart this day with your sweet thoughts. I am on the swing under strong winds that have only just come from nowhere! The air has cooled a bit and there’s a beautiful promise of some much needed rain. Hope fills skies! Huge hugs and hearty thanks!! 🤗❤️🤗

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment