I Love Spaghetti!

She declared to me

I haven’t had it in four long years

Because…

My husband doesn’t like it

This spaghetti in a can

I’m going to eat if for dinner

Tonight!

He can have a sandwich

Is that bad…

She inquired of me

Before she flew away…

Not waiting for an answer

Not needing an answer

Not from me anyway

How long it took her to find her way here

Tethered me in sadness

But then…

Her moment of unbridled freedom

Gifted me with hope…

I Love Spaghetti!

I haven’t eaten it in Four years…

****

I was at the market taking my time when this woman happened upon me. I don’t know her and will never see her again. Our exchange was less than sixty seconds and yet I cannot forget her. She shared a heart’s love and sacrifice with me in less time than it took me to write this sentence…and left me with tears in my eyes…as she walked away determined and smiling…

When was the last time you ate spaghetti…

****

ellie894 October 21, 2018

75 thoughts on “I Love Spaghetti!

    1. Yes! I’m sad for her too. I came to know the joys of spaghetti when I was grown (if we ever really are 🙃). I cannot imagine going without the aroma of it filling a kitchen. Such a simple delight! Thank you 😊

      Liked by 1 person

  1. This was the Parmesan on top, the garlic on the breadsticks, and the napkin to wipe the lips. It was sad, realistic (I’ve dropped messages like this, not able to interpret them as you), and satisfying to read someone going after what they want.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you Kris for such thoughtful comments. This was some weeks ago and I still catch myself thinking of her. I know your days are very full just now. I hope that you are as well as can be and finding some things to smile about. I don’t believe I’ve mentioned it but I lost my own father back in August. Please take care, suzanne ❤️

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Reminds me of a boyfriend I had had once, who didn’t like fresh onions. Before I knew it, I too got used to not eating fresh onions. Gives me heartburn now. Odd.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Isn’t it something how people touch us in so many ways. Thank you for the comment. It made me smile although I’m awfully sorry for the heartburn. That’s no fun. 😊

      Like

Leave a comment